I Will What I Want!

Misty_Copeland_3_920x380_scaled_cropp

So by now you all have seen Misty Copland’s Under Armour commercial if not here is the LINK.  In it she reads a rejection letter she had gotten from a ballet company, due to her body type. Watching that I was so incredibly moved because in my mind I kept wondering how she must have felt and on earth that company must be feeling right now.

But not just them. How about some of the most famous writers today.

Lord of the Flies by William Golding was rejected 20 times before it was published.

Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell was rejected 38 times before it was published.

Anne Frank’s The Diary of a Young Girl was rejected 15 times before it was published. Today it is the most read non-fiction work behind to the bible.

Carrie by Stephen King was rejected 30 times before it was published.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone was rejected 12 times and J. K. Rowling was told “not to quit her day job.”….(Now she could mostly buy her job and whatever company she worked for.)

As authors (or at least I did) we see publishers and agents like gods on Mount Olympus. It feels almost impossible to touch them. I’ve gotten emails from fans asking me if they should just give up after getting rejections and to them I say do whatever you want to do.

If you are a writer, a little thing like a rejection will hurt but not writing will hurt ten times worse. People should never walk away from what they are passionate about no matter the obstacles in front of them.

For me, I have dyslexia, reading and writing growing up felt like a special type of hell. I would have to read in front of the class sometimes and would mix up and skip over words. It was just horrible. But I loved storytelling. I loved making up people and letting them free in my own made up world.

I wanted to tell stories so I forced myself to write. I turn of the red underline on Microsoft Word until after I’m finished because seeing it all makes me feel stupid and discouraged. But I still write anyway. People comment about my grammar and spelling all the time, I do my best to fix it and I keep writing because this is what I love to do. I have stories roaming around my head all the time that I want to share, if couldn’t do that I know I would lose my mind.

Which is why I agree with Under Armour. Don’t listen to anyone else when it comes to your dreams and passions.

I will…what I want….and so can you.

J

Happy Hump Day

5 thoughts on “I Will What I Want!

  1. Boy did this come on the right day. I am currently deciding whether or not to change jobs and worried that I’m too old to do this. This paragraph was the extra push I needed to go for it & take the job. Thank you for the inspiration 🙂

    Like

  2. That was a beautiful message! I sat with my daughter and had a great talk about will and want and what it means to us and our futures. My brother has dyslexia too. It was not only something that affected him but also myself. I helped him each and every school year to get through his workload. I made times tables in every size (before computers) by hand for inside his books, calculator, pencil case and wherever else. I even wrote a report on it. So with that said, I am so damn proud of you!!!! You are one of my favorites and will always sing your praises. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Like

Leave a Reply

