Tweeter me Purple: Sunday Mistakes.

EDITED: NO TWEETS WERE DELETED FROM THIS CONVERSATION.

So I really truly believe this was a misunderstand that got out of hand quickly.

You see we were having a civil conversation. When I tweeted this;

Screen Shot 2014-08-10 at 3.57.31 PM

I honestly had no idea it would make Aly so mad. The only reason why I tweeted that is because I had gotten another tweet from someone else who had dislike my book.

Before all of that happened this is what was going on.

ORIGINAL: Sigh. So before I get myself in deeper water or in fact find myself going crazy on a sunday evening I decided to post this for you all to be the judge.

Now first, I don’t check reviews often. Unless you send it to me. 99.9% of the times all the reviews sent to me are good reviews from fans. So when I got a link to another review I got excited.

However….it was not a good review. And with all reviews once I’ve started I can’t stop. I figured the person who sent me the link really wanted me to read it.

So this what happened afterward.

Screen Shot 2014-08-10 at 3.17.24 PM

The first thing I did was say sorry she didn’t like it. I know my book isn’t for everyone but I was interested in hearing her thoughts since again I thought she reached out to me.

Screen Shot 2014-08-10 at 3.17.28 PM

She seemed really nice and honestly just had problems with how things were in the book.

Screen Shot 2014-08-10 at 3.17.33 PM

Screen Shot 2014-08-10 at 3.17.37 PM

As you can see I even liked some of the times she said. I really thought she honestly dislike the book and was trying to help be see a different point of view.

Screen Shot 2014-08-10 at 3.17.47 PM

Everything still look fine to me.

Screen Shot 2014-08-10 at 3.17.53 PM

Screen Shot 2014-08-10 at 3.18.03 PM

So as you see the last two tweets have chanced completely.

Screen Shot 2014-08-10 at 3.48.51 PM

I AM KICKING MYSELF! One because this again goes back to my first tweet and secondly because I got messages from people saying that she was talking behind my back on goodreads. 

I felt like I had been baited had my words twisted when in all honestly I just wanted to have a valid conversation with her. She was passionate about a problem she saw in my work and I thought I could even ask her to beta read for me. (yes I know that would be a favor)

This drama was not what I wanted.

I’m so upset and frustrated.

Ps. Don’t message her on my account. I just wanted to clear this up so that no one would think I really was trying to attack another reviewer.

Guys, I am so sorry. I feel like I let you down whenever I get into this type of drama.

Again I did not delete post. As Aly said herself in the last tweet. She was upset because I tweeted about not wanted to get tagged. That’s it. There was nothing else said in this conversation which is why i’m shocked.

41 thoughts on “Tweeter me Purple: Sunday Mistakes.

  1. She was being childish. You’re tweet didn’t say nothing offensive whatsoever. You’re book is great, it’s fiction. If it was nonfiction where the events were true she would have a point. But the book isn’t real! I’m sorry you have to go through that with people. But you’re a great writer.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. See, now you’re completely twisting everything I said. I didn’t bait you into some drama, my review IS honest feedback. I DIDN’T like you tweeting about me. THAT annoyed me. Considering we spoke about it and you said it was an honest misunderstanding, yet you write a post making me out to be the bad person, when I explained?

    I’m done.

    Like

    • You wrote a whole status on goodreads. You just wrote something again no less then four minutes ago. You never said it’s a misunderstanding you went on going after me. I didn’t tweet you. You tweeted me. I didn’t talk about the review. I’m talking about how your calming that I was attacking you. I didn’t attack you Aly. I honestly thought we were having a valid discussion. Until I got links from other people saying you were talking behind my back on goodreads and that I should see it.

      Like

      • Honestly? It feels like an attack when you tweet about me on your profile. It really does. Hence the status. A second opinion? You should have edited the names and pictures of the people commenting on my status out. They don’t feel uncomfortable about having their names all over your blog.

        You said “misunderstanding” and I honestly believed you were going to write about it being a misunderstanding, not me baiting you into drama or whatever.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Imagine how I feel? I was talking to you and then out of no where all I see is all this negative stuff about me. I honestly didn’t care about what you said about my book. That is your right. However when you start posting things about who and I am and what I’m doing then I feel like I’m being attacked. That’s how I feel right now which is why I wrote this post. To show how this started of as a talk and then all of sudden I was blind sided. I really thought you were different. I really thought you were trying to talk to me a reader to an author on how to be better. But instead I felt I was reading an excerpt from Mean girls. You went to goodreads. I wrote on my blog.

        From the moment I clicked the link I felt like I was being attacked.

        Liked by 1 person

      • You twisted my words on your blog. It’s completely different than me writing a status. I didn’t even mention you in it until you started tweeting about me and your fans started sending me messages. So yeah, I’m pretty pissed. I honestly just shared a review and it feels like you sicced your fans on me. Also when you said you were making a post, I honestly believed you were clearing up the misunderstanding, not twisting what I said.

        Like

      • Sigh. Aly. I really don’t want to fight with you. Honestly I don’t. I will dear it up and take down the comments from those on Goodreads. But you need to understand how this feels from my end. One minute I felt like we were talking fine. I made one comment about not sending me negative tweets just so I wouldn’t have to go throw this again. And you took it as an attack. If you had replied to that tweet I would have explained that. But instead all I get is that i’m the bad one? I by no means told any fans to go after you. Just like I know you haven’t told people to go after me even though I’ve gotten about dozen tweets already from your fans as well

        Like

    • I really wish we could’ve spoken about this in private. I see where you’re coming from, I do, but what I don’t understand is if it’s okay for you to tweet about me, why is it not okay for me to write a status? Where I didn’t even mention you until a friend asked me what book? Even then, to someone just passing through, they couldn’t have known it was you. Which is why I took offence, because it’s a bit of a “it’s okay for me but not you” situation.

      But now I’m being made out to be the bad one, when it wasn’t like that at all.

      This is my last message, I’m not going to respond to any more. You know where to find me if you want to message me on Twitter and we can talk about this privately.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I would have gladly spoken about this in private. But again before I knew it you already had a status up. And the way you stated made it should like I was fighting you over a review which I wasn’t. When you post something like that I automatically look like the villain. When it was about one tweet, in which I asked please don’t tweet me negative reviews. It wasn’t just towards you. My tweet was general tweet that could be applied to anyone who read it and hated it. I would have never added you to it. Your status was solely based on me. That was the difference. If you wanted to share your review please do by all means. Sometimes bad reviews even help a book. What I disliked was how it sound liked I was fighting you over something I wasn’t. I tried to reach to via twitter, but you didn’t respond.

        If you would like to take down the status I can take down the blog. Again this has nothing to do with your review or you. It was how I felt like I was being spoken about. If you had explained it was a is understanding then it would have been fine.

        Like

  3. I’ve seen this happen a hundred times on goodreads. This is also something newer reviewers do to get popular they start all this drama and then they feed off it by crying victim! Also she’s lying on booklikes it does t tag the author like that! Anyone can check it. I just checked! She really is just attention hungry. Sadly there is nothing you can do. She wanted to hurt you and it worked. It’s sad. Her profile says 20 but she’s acting like she is in highschool.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Are you kidding me right now? You didn’t have to post anything on goodreads. You did so to stir up drama. You knew exactly what you were doing. It’s the same reason you most likely linked this post and why you most likely why you are still ranting. Hating a book is one thing. Being a drama queen is another. You got upset because after YOU tweeted her she asked ppl not to tweet her negative reviews? Which is by the way her right? Why would anyone want to be tweeted something bad? Then you go on goodreads complaining? Seriously? Grow up I’m not buying that

        Liked by 1 person

      • You know what, Aly? You brought this whole thing down on yourself. You thought you could bully an author who wrote fiction about facts that doesn’t matter because it is FICTION!!! You wanted to look like you knew so much, when really all you were doing is baiting the author to respond to your juvenile tactics so you could run over to Goodreads and share your “victory” with the other juveniles there! You are the biggest kind of literary fraud, you take an insult and wrap it up in a nice little package then call it a review. Scurry back to Goodreads where you belong.

        Like

    • Yes! What are you doing screen saving and posting publicly other people’s names and faces on your public blog??

      I don’t care who said what! TAKE THEM DOWN!!!
      This made me very angry!

      I barely “escaped” from being included.

      Like

    • Once again, YOU did that! YOU took it to Goodreads to share that you were put upon and got your feelings hurt. YOU got your cronies pulled into this. They need to direct their complaints and insults at the person who brought about this whole situation… YOU!

      Like

      • Jackie, again please don’t go after her. Like I said this was a misunderstanding. She believed I offended her and she took to her friends. I did the same and we are both responsible for this drama. Hopefully we will both fix it on our sides.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t care who did what and who said what…

        Taking a screen save and smearing other people’s names and faces on a public blog without having permission from each of them is COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE!

        The screen saves from GR in question has been taken down by the author, for which I am very glad! Kudos.

        I am also very glad that the author have said to not fight the person in question on her account. Kudos again!

        Like

  4. You didn’t let any of your TRUE fans down. This is just another reason I feel Goodreads is a complete waste! How can anyone take them seriously when this is the type of people who are members? Is it a place for rowdy high school kids to hand out and bully people? Seriously, JJ, let this go and look at the source. Goodreads, and the people who lurk there, yes, lurk, are not worth your time!

    Like

  5. JJ stop apologizing for your work. You can’t please everybody. There is always going to be someone with something to say, good or bad. Opinions are like assholes. Everybody has one. It is called fiction for a reason. IT’S NOT REAL! The next time you get a bad review either ignore it or just say thank you because they took the time to read it.

    Like

  6. Honestly JJ, I would have left the comments and I sure wouldn’t have apologized for something that wasn’t your fault to begin with. And to add a slap in the face to all the insults, you offer to allow her to help you on the language usage in the following books in the series and she goes to Goodreads and makes fun of you for that! You are a much better person than I am.

    Like

  7. Wow that chick was sonething else. I would say she was just out just looking to bully someone. Dont let her get to you. We know you and your a great n sweet person. Keep your head up and remember your true friends from FF & WordPress no bullying here. ♥ your work andcant wait tell next book love you girl . Heres my hugg to you. 🙂

    Like

    • Wow…..”no bullying here”.

      Yeah, right…. I call BS.

      Let’s recap, shall we?

      The person in question as been called
      “childish”
      “attention hungry”
      “drama queen”
      “bully a writer”
      “a know it all”
      “juvenile”
      “biggest kind of literary fraud”

      Not to mention, insulting the person’s friends and users of Goodreads (myself included)
      “cronies”
      “the type of people”
      “lurkers”
      asshole

      All in course of a few comments.
      Listen to your friend and stop attacking her. She asked you, twice, to not do that!

      Like

      • I get what you are saying but in all honesty. What about the reviewer? She’s still on goodreads talking horribly about the JJ. Not only on her status but on another status as well. She wasn’t attacked. People are call this author a brat and childish and rude. But not once has the reader asked them to stop? Not once has she tried to end it as well? How is that right. She is talking about her on two status and on her review? JJ posted a blog post so ppl can see the whole dialogue. It’s crazy. She’s making it into something when it’s not and the author and all her fans just have to shut up and watch even after the author has tried 3 times now to claim it’s an misunderstand?

        Liked by 2 people

  8. My opinion from the outside looking in……….

    I had never heard of “Ruthless People” until all of this unfolded. I am a GR member and happen to see Aly’s status update because one of my friends liked it. I’ll admit it piqued my curiosity, so I read her review and followed the “paper trail”. Her review, while scathing, touched upon the inaccuracies and stereotypes often found in mob/mafia story lines. As someone who is not Italian American these issues likely would not offend me as they did her, however, anyone who’s been on the receiving end of stereotypes or racism of any kind can surely understand and respect her anger and passion about the subject. I thought the Twitter conversation between the two was constructive. Aly made her feelings known and took J.J. to task, which J.J. handled with poise and grace. It looked like it was all heading for a positive resolution – criticism well received, lessons learned, Aly even agreed to beta read J.J.’s follow up because she speaks Italian and knows the culture. Win-win-win. Then it was all derailed by what I perceived to be a simple misunderstanding. The twitter comment that Aly found offensive did read a little snarky, although I don’t believe that was J.J.’s intention. Here words seemed to convey frustration – frustration that appears to have been an initial reaction as the ladies had yet to discuss their differences. While I am not an author I’m sure no matter how well one takes criticism, it has to hurt when something you’ve put your heart and soul into is ripped apart. Of course you want everyone to love your work and even though you know that’s impossible, when you’re taken to task about it it is only natural to get defensive.

    Not knowing Aly personally I can not say with certainty that she did not try to bait J.J. into an argument, but I don’t believe she did. This was a sensitive matter for both of you – J.J.: your book; Aly: your feelings regarding the content of said book – and being the passionate individuals you both appear to be the initial misunderstanding snowballed into an avalanche.The saddest part to me is that I believe if given the chance the two of you could have learned a lot from each other, not to mention how great your beta reader/author collabo would have been. There definitely are no winners in this one, but no matter whose side your on just remember:
    In a good play, everyone is in the right.
    – Fredrich Hebbel

    Like

  9. The sooner tweeting disappears the better! Really, twitter is like the digital world’s graffiti wall. It amuses some, insults most and means absolutely nothing in the whole scheme of things! And it just gets painted over in the end! It’s a marketing tool that can suck people in and those foolish enough to respond end up with nothing but heartache. You have real conversations with people, not computer screens. Really you would get more positive responses if you yelled at a wall than wasting your time on twitter. Even if people are ‘nice’ to you on twitter isn’t it a bit hollow? They don’t know you. You aren’t really friends. Really even my responding to this means nothing and has just managed to waste a few minutes. I hope you decide to disable twitter, nothing good comes from faceless flattery and attacks by strangers tends to eat away at the soul.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly, I agree. I don’t have a Twitter, I don’t want a Twitter, either. For all the reasons Shaz brought up and more. The digital world is becoming a staging area for people to put down, malign, and attempt to destroy others, all from the safety of an anonymous post.

      Like

  10. Wow JJ : (
    This is what makes a person jaded. It takes a while to build that thick skin and let it roll right off you. Just remember not to lose your true self to anything or anyone. I believe she’s being disingenuous and that’s what’s hurtful to such a new, and young author like yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. My opinion from the outside looking in……….

    I had never heard of “Ruthless People” until all of this unfolded. I am a GR member and happen to see Aly’s status update because one of my friends liked it. I’ll admit it piqued my curiosity, so I read her review and followed the “paper trail”. Her review, while scathing, touched upon the inaccuracies and stereotypes often found in mob/mafia story lines. As someone who is not Italian American these issues likely would not offend me as they did her, however, anyone who’s been on the receiving end of stereotypes or racism of any kind can surely understand and respect her anger and passion about the subject. I thought the Twitter conversation between the two was constructive. Aly made her feelings known and took J.J. to task, which J.J. handled with poise and grace. It looked like it was all heading for a positive resolution – criticism well received, lessons learned, Aly even agreed to beta read J.J.’s follow up because she speaks Italian and knows the culture. Win-win-win. Then it was all derailed by what I perceived to be a simple misunderstanding. The twitter comment that Aly found offensive did read a little snarky, although I don’t believe that was J.J.’s intention. Here words seemed to convey frustration – frustration that appears to have been an initial reaction as the ladies had yet to discuss their differences. While I am not an author I’m sure no matter how well one takes criticism, it has to hurt when something you’ve put your heart and soul into is ripped apart. Of course you want everyone to love your work and even though you know that’s impossible, when you’re taken to task about it it is only natural to get defensive.

    Not knowing Aly personally I can not say with certainty that she did not try to bait J.J. into an argument, but I don’t believe she did. This was a sensitive matter for both of you – J.J.: your book; Aly: your feelings regarding the content of said book – and being the passionate individuals you both appear to be the initial misunderstanding snowballed into an avalanche.The saddest part to me is that I believe if given the chance the two of you could have learned a lot from each other, not to mention how great your beta reader/author collabo would have been. There definitely are no winners in this one, but no matter whose side your on just remember:
    In a good play, everyone is in the right.
    – Fredrich Hebbel

    Like

  12. This is the reason I do not normally comment on anything I read. This however has turned into a circus and could not be ignored. Social media has really taken things a bit too far. I absolutely loved Ruthless People and could care less if the Mafia was accurately portrayed. It is a work of fiction people. It is the writers prerogative to create any character they choose. If you do not like it DO NOT READ IT!!! Those if you who feel the need to rip apart a piece of work that someone spent countless hours and obviously lots of hard work into SHAME ON YOU! JJ please ignore the crazies. Remember positive attracts positive.
    I look forward to the realse of your next book.

    Like

  13. I cannot believe how some people love drama. I think that the fact your were writing and not speaking had a lot to do with it too. I saw no argument either, just a difference of opinion. But some people are OVERLY sensitive and read into words emotion that is not there. There is a lot to be said for tone, inflection and body language. Do not take it personally. One could argue that nobody is that crazy either, but then a sociopath in prison may be offended. Would you care then? Probably not, so just remember, “this too shall pass” and tomorrow is another day. Laugh about this all the way to the bank. I bought your book and told others to as well.

    Like

  14. You babes may have stepped in it through no fault of your own. You are such a kind soul and someone in the publishing house should have doublely double checked the different languages used so none of this is your fault. I have bought your book and read your fanfic and encouraged my friends to do the same. Chin up petal,

    Much love Eeffle

    Like

  15. You are amazing J.J . Don’t even bother with those kind of status. Your book was amazing, I mean brilliant. And we all know fiction is not real, and it’s not real life. So don’t even bother. You have so many fans, so don’t worrz about those who diss your books,

    Like

Leave a Reply

